FitzRoy Prize

Regulations for the FitzRoy Prize
The Prize shall be awarded for distinguished work in applications of meteorology or related sciences, especially if published in Society journals.  For this purpose, “applications” shall be defined as “scientific, technical, commercial and administrative aspects from the point of view of the end user”.  The main requirement is that the work is of use to meteorologists, users of meteorological products and those engaged in the dialogue between them. The Prize shall be awarded biennially. The Prize shall not be confined to members of the Society and no person shall be eligible for the prize a second time.

Title Forenames Surname Suffix Award year
Dr Alec James Bennett   2017
Prof Jonathan Gregory   2015
Mr Peter Trevelyan OBE 2013
Mr Ewen McCallum FRMetS CMet 2013
R Harrison 2011
Dr Robert Riddaway FRMetS 2009
Dr Geoff Jenkins   2007
Mr Henry Derwent   2005
Prof Neville Nicholls   2004
Prof Leonard Allen Smith   2002
Dr Jianmin Shao FRMetS CMet 2000
R Mayron 1998
Dr Richard Gordon Derwent OBE 1996
Mr David Parker   1994
D J T Carter 1992
A Blackham 1992
Prof John Thornes   1990
Dr Peter Francis   1988
D J Moore 1986
Dr James Milford FRMetS 1984
Mr J Scott   1982
Mr T L M Hunt   1982
Mr F B Smith   1980
Mr David Eric Pedgley   1978
Mr R E Lacey   1978