Symons Gold Medal

Regulations for the Symons Gold Medal
The Symons Gold Medal shall be awarded for distinguished work done in connection with Meteorological Science. The Medal shall be awarded biennially, and the Society shall arrange for the delivery of the Symons Lecture on a subject relevant to the work for which the medal is awarded. The prize consists of a certificate and a medal.

Title Forenames Surname Suffix Award year
Prof John Michael Wallace   2016
Prof Robert Houze FRMetS 2014
Dr Tim Barnett   2012
Prof John Mitchell OBE FRMetS CMet 2010
Dr Adrian Simmons   2008
Prof Sir Brian Hoskins CBE HonFRMetS 2006
Dr John Green   2004
Prof R Hide CBE 2002
Prof Keith Browning HonFRMetS 2000
Mr P Drazin   1998
Prof Klaus Hasselmann HonFRMetS 1996
Mr J L Monteith   1994
Mr D Lily   1992
Sir John Houghton CBE HonFRMetS 1990
Mr D Atlas   1988
Prof H Lamb   1986
Mr C E Junge   1984
Mr F Pasquill   1982
Mr J Smagorinsky   1980
Mr Frank Ludlam   1978