Michael Hunt Award

Regulations for the Michael Hunt Award

The Michael Hunt Award shall be made biennially to individuals for excellence in increasing the understanding of meteorology or its allied disciplines among members of the general public, including particular groups such as yachtsmen, schoolchildren, etc.  The Award commemorates the achievements of Michael Hunt (1920-1985) who, as a TV weatherman, was able to communicate his enthusiasm for the subject to his viewers (Obituary in Weather, 40, 408, 1985). In exceptional circumstances the award may be made to two individuals, whether for quite separate contributions or for a combined or related contribution. The award shall only be made if a nomination of a sufficiently high standard is forthcoming.  The prize is not confined to Fellows of the Society, and no person shall be eligible for the prize a second time.

Title Forenames Surname Suffix Award year
Mr Paul Hudson   2016
Mrs Pierrette Thomet   2014
Dr Andrew Russell   2012
Dr Paul David Williams FRMetS 2012
Prof Dudley Edmund Shallcross FRMetS 2008
  S Jackson   2008
Dr Ross Bannister   2006
  WJ Burroughs   2004
Mr Frank Singleton   2002
Mr John Harris   1998
Mr James Bacon   1996
Dr Geoff Jenkins   1994
Mr Ross Reynolds   1994
Mr Geoffrey Philip Eden FRMetS 1992