Jehuda Neumann Memorial Prize

Regulations for the Jehuda Neumann Memorial Prize

The Jehuda Neumann Memorial Prize commemorates the work of Professor Jehuda Neumann (1915-1993) on the relationship between weather and historical events.

The Prize shall be awarded biennially to the person whom the Committee of the Royal Meteorological Society’s Special Interest Group for the History of Meteorology & Physical Oceanography (or delegated sub-committee) considers to have made the most outstanding contribution to the study of the history of meteorology or physical oceanography during the preceding five years. In exceptional circumstances, at the discretion of the full Committee, this qualifying period may be extended – to recognise, for example, an individual’s outstanding contribution over a long period.  The award shall not be confined to members of the Royal Meteorological Society or of the Group. The Prize shall usually be awarded for published papers in the English language, or for an outstanding contribution or contributions to the Group’s activities, during the preceding five years.  Exceptionally, the period may be extended to recognise long-term meritorious contributions. Nominations for the award, with supporting reasons, should be sent to the Honorary Secretary of the Group by 31 July in even years.  A decision shall be made by the Committee, or by a designated sub-committee of at least three persons nominated by the Committee. The Prize shall be awarded only if the Committee is satisfied that a sufficiently high standard has been attained. The Prize shall be presented at the Annual General Meeting or Awards Presentation of the Society next following the last day for nominations. No person shall be eligible for a second award.

Title Forenames Surname Suffix Award year Public profile
Miss Joan Margaret Kenworthy FRMetS 2015 View
Mr Brian John Booth 2012 View
Mr Edward Mills FRMetS 2011 View
Dr Dennis Wheeler FRMetS 2009 View
Mr Oliver Ashford HonFRMetS 2007 View
Dr Anita McConnell 2005 View
Miss J Insley 2003 View
Mr John Malcolm Walker FRMetS 2001 View
Mr John Kington FRMetS 1999 View
Mr Dick Ogden 1997 View
Mr Robert Marc Friedman 1995 View