Buchan Prize

Regulations for the Buchan Prize
In order to commemorate the amalgamation of the Scottish Meteorological Society with the Royal Meteorological Society and in memory of Alexander Buchan, Scotland’s foremost meteorologist, a prize termed the “Buchan Prize”, shall be awarded annually. The Prize shall be awarded to the author of the paper or papers contributed to the Society journals in the previous five years, which shall be adjudged by the Council to contain the most important original contribution or contributions to meteorology. Papers published in other journals within the time prescribed may be considered, but only in support of authors who have papers of merit published also in the Society journals within the time prescribed. The prize shall be confined to members of the Society.  In the case of joint authorship the prize may, at the discretion of the Council, be divided and the certificate duplicated, even if one author is not a member of the Society. No person shall be eligible for the prize a second time.

Title Forenames Surname Suffix Award year
Prof John Methven   2017
Prof Suzanne Gray   2016
Prof Roger Smith   2015
Prof Richard Philip Allan   2014
Prof John Thuburn   2013
Dr Mark John Rodwell   2012
Prof James Matthew Haywood   2011
Dr Nigel Wood FRMetS 2010
Dr Olaf Stiller   2009
Dr Andrew Ross Brown   2008
Dr Andrew Staniforth   2007
Mr Alan Grant   2006
Dr Andrew White   2005
Dr Michael Cullen   2004
Dr Adrian Simmons   2003
  J Austin   2002
Dr Roberto Buizza   2001
Dr Franco Molteni   2001
Prof Geraint Vaughan FRMetS 2000
Prof Stephen Mobbs   1999
Prof Julia Mary Slingo OBE HonFRMetS FRS 1998
  I N James   1997
Prof Keith Shine   1996
  Anthony Slingo   1996
Dr Jonathan Robert Eyre   1995
  P R Jonas   1994
Dr Philippe Courtier   1993
Prof Andrew Lorenc FRMetS 1993
Prof Alan Thorpe   1991
Prof Alan O'Neill   1989
Prof Timothy Noel Palmer CBE DPhil DSc FRMetS 1987
Dr Glenn Shutts   1987
Prof Paul Mason   1985
Dr Adrian Tuck   1983
Dr Mitchell Moncrieff   1981
  W T Roach   1979