Adrian Gill Prize

Regulations for the Adrian Gill Prize

In memory of Adrian Gill, and in recognition of his outstanding scientific contributions, a prize called the “Adrian Gill Prize” shall be awarded annually if appropriate. The Prize shall be awarded to a member of the Society who has made a significant contribution(s), in the specified fields, and who has also been an author of a paper(s) in the Society’s journals. The specified fields are those that interface between atmospheric science and related disciplines, thereby allowing the contributions to be referred to as “multi-disciplinary”. These related disciplines include oceanography, hydrology, biogeochemistry, numerical methodologies, etc. The period under consideration for this Prize shall be the five consecutive calendar years preceding the year of the award.  No person shall be eligible for the Adrian Gill Prize for a second time.

Title Forenames Surname Suffix Award year
Prof Ian Renfrew FRMetS 2017
Prof Stephen Ernest Belcher   2016
Dr Matthew Martin   2015
Prof Geoffrey Vallis   2014
Prof Adam Arthur Scaife FRMetS 2014
Dr Elizabeth Clare Kent FRMetS 2013
Prof Dudley Edmund Shallcross FRMetS 2012
Prof David Brian Stephenson   2011
Prof Joanna Dorothy Haigh CBE HonFRMetS 2010
Dr Andrew Staniforth   2009
Prof Timothy Noel Palmer CBE DPhil DSc FRMetS 2008
Prof Peter Read   2007
  P Cox   2006
Dr David Anderson   2005
Prof John Marshall   2004
Prof John Pyle   2003
Dr Adrian Tuck   2003
Prof P J Webster HonFRMetS 2003