About the Society

The Royal Meteorological Society is the Professional and Learned Society for Weather and Climate.

The Society serves not only those in academia and professional meteorologists, but also those whose work is affected in some way or other by the weather or climate, or simply have a general interest in the weather.  The membership includes scientists, practitioners and a broad range of weather enthusiasts.

We administer the national qualifications of the profession and under our Royal Charter pursue our purpose of the advancement of meteorological science.  As meteorological science has developed it has come to include not just the science of weather and climate itself, but the application of this to disciplines such as agriculture, aviation, hydrology, marine transport and oceanography, as well as the impacts of climate change and the interaction between the atmosphere and the oceans.

The programmes of the Society are broad and diverse.  The Society publishes four international science journals and an in-house journal.  Our programme of conferences and meetings bring together scientists from across the international community, and in addition we have a number of very active local centres and special interest groups.  We have an active education programme for teachers and children at both primary and secondary schools and promote continuing professional development from those in their first job to the most senior professionals.  The Society also provides support to the media and is actively involved in the Government policy development on areas around weather and climate change.

The Society was established on 3 April 1850 as 'The British Meteorological Society', and was incorporated by Royal Charter in 1866, when its name was changed to "The Meteorological Society".  The privilege of adding 'Royal' to the title was granted by Her Majesty Queen Victoria in 1883.  Amalgamation with the Scottish Meteorological Society took place in 1921.  The Patron of the Society is HRH The Prince of Wales.

Mission statement

“To promote the understanding and application of meteorology for the benefit of all."


The Society is a registered charity. Its affairs are run by a Council of Trustees who meet four times a year to manage the Governance of the Society, guided by our Royal Charter, By-Laws and Standing Orders. The Council also sets the strategic direction of the Society and reviews the delivery of its programmes of work. The Bylaws can be downloaded at the bottom of the page


Council comprises a total of nineteen Officers and Ordinary Members of Council elected at the Annual General Meeting.  The President, elected for a two-year term, is supported by a Vice-President for Scotland and three other Vice-Presidents, the Treasurer, the General Secretary,  four Committee Chairmen and the Ordinary Members of Council. In addition the UK's permanent representative to the World Meteorological Organisation is an ex-officio member of Council.

If you are interested in becoming an Officer of Council contact us. 

Find out more about Council Members

The Chief Executive and her team are responsible for the executive management of the Society.  The Society staff are based at the Headquarters in Reading.  The Society also has a number of Local Centres based around the UK.  These centres are managed by volunteers who organise local events and activities.

Corporate Documents



Expenses Claim Form

Society Documents

Strategic Plans

Annual Accounts

Annual Reports

Election of Officers

Member Handbook